Directory

Admin Core | BDM Core | Uganda Cohort | Russia Cohort | Boston Cohort | NIAAA | Fellows and Junior Investigators | Advisory Panel

Contact Us

Administrative Coordinating Core

Samet_Jeffrey-2-5x3-5aPrincipal Investigator
Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Heath,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website

 

Investigators and Staff

Bridden_Carly-2-5x3-5Carly Bridden, MA, MPH
Administrative Director
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5768
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Carly.Bridden@bmc.org

 

 

 

giffor1Allen Gifford, MD
Co-Investigator for Administrative Core – Implementation Research
Professor of Medicine and Public Health
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
715 Albany Street
Talbot Building, T348W
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (781) 687-3417
agifford@bu.edu
Website

 

Gnatienko_Natalia-2-5x3-5 (2)Natalia Gnatienko, MPH
Project Manager
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3843
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Natalia.Gnatienko@bmc.org

 

 

 

Biostatistics and Data Management Core

DebbiePrincipal Investigator

Debbie Cheng, ScD
Biostatistician for Uganda and Russia Cohorts
Professor of Biostatistics
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5989
dmcheng@bu.edu

 

Investigators and Staff

ChrisChristine Chaisson, MPH

Director of the BUSPH Data Coordinating Center
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5009
chaisson@bu.edu
Director of Data Management

Tim HeerenTimothy Heeren, PhD
Professor of Biostatistics
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5177
tch@bu.edu
Biostatistician for Boston Cohort

 

Michael Winter

Michael Winter, MPH
Associate Director of the BUSPH Data Coordinating Center
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5015
mwinter@bu.edu

 

 

Uganda Cohort

Judy HahnPrincipal Investigator

Judith Hahn, PhD, MA
Associate Professor in Residence
Univ. of California, San Francisco Mission Bay
550 16th St., 3rd floor
San Francisco, CA 94158-2549
Phone: (415) 576-5815
Judy.hahn@ucsf.edu
Website

 

Investigators and Staffi

Nneka Emenyonu, DrPH, MPH
Project Director, Infectious Diseases, San Francisco General Hospital
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-9346
Fax: (415) 597-9213
emenyonun@ucsf.edu

 

robin fatchRobin Fatch, MPH
Statistician/Data Manager, Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-4976
Fax: (415) 597-9213
robin.fatch@ucsf.edu

 
Peter Hunt Peter Hunt, MD
Assistant Adjunct Professor
University of California, San Francisco
Positive Health Program
SFGH Building 80, Ward 84
995 Potrero Ave. Box 0874
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone: (415) 476-4082 x345
phunt@php.ucsf.edu
Co-Investigator
 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAWinnie Muyindike, MBChB, MMED
Director of Immune Suppression Syndrome Clinic
Mbarara University of Science and Technology
Department Of Internal Medicine
P.O Box 1410 Mbarara Uganda
Phone: 256 – 772- 52-1619
wmuyindike@gmail.com
Co-Investigator

 


 

Samet_Jeffrey-2-5x3-5aJeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Health,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website
Co-Investigator

 

Starley Shade, PhD
Assistant Professor
University of California, San Francisco
50 Beale Street
San Francisco, CA 94143
Phone: (415) 597-9254
Fax: (415) 597-9213
starley.shade@ucsf.edu
Co-Investigator

 

Russia Cohort

Samet_Jeffrey-2-5x3-5aPrincipal Investigator

Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Health,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website

 

Investigators and Staff

iElena A. Blokhina, MD, PhD
Deputy Director, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
First St. Petersburg Pavlov State Medical University
197022 Lev Tolstoy St 6/8
St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: 011-8-901-373-5396
blokhinaelena@gmail.com
Co-Investigator

 

 

 

matt freibergMatthew Freiberg, MD, MSc
Director, Vanderbilt Center for Clinical Cardiovascular outcomes REsearch And Trials Evaluation (V-C3REATE)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Cardiovascular Medicine Division
2525 West End, Suite 300-A
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 875-9729
Fax: (615) 322-3837
matthew.s.freiberg@vanderbilt.edu
Co-Investigator

Gnatienko_Natalia-2-5x3-5 (2)Natalia Gnatienko, MPH
Project Manager
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3843
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Natalia.Gnatienko@bmc.org

 

 

 

Evgeny Krupitsky(2)Evgeny Krupitsky, MD, PhD, DMSci
Chief, Lab of Clinical Pharmacology of Addictions, Pavlov State Medical University
Chief, Department of Addictions,
St. Petersburg Bekhterev Psychoneurological Research Institute
Bekhtereva St, 3,
St. Petersburg 192019 Russia
Phone: 011-7-901-300-5811
Fax: 011-7-812-365-2217
kruenator@gmail.com
PI for Russia Cohort Subcontract

 

Lioznov DDmitry Lioznov, MD, PhD
Vice-Rector for Nursing Education, Pavlov State Medical University
Head, Center for Preventive Medicine
Pavlov State Medical University
6/8 Lev Tolstoy St.
197089
St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: 011-7-(812) 499-7058
Fax: 011-7-(812) 499-7058
dlioznov@yandex.ru
Co-Investigator

 

SONY DSCEdwin Zvartau, MD, PhD, DMSci
Head, Department of Clinical Pharmacology & Evidence-Based Med
Research Director, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
Pavlov State Medical University
6/8 Lev Tolstoy St.
St. Petersburg 197022 Russia
Phone: 011-7-812-499 7023
Fax: 011-7-812-346 3414
Zvartau@gmail.com
Project Director for Russia Cohort Subcontract

 

Boston Cohort

SONY DSCPrincipal Investigator

Richard Saitz, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Community Health Sciences; Professor of Community Health Sciences and Medicine
Boston University Schools of Public Health and Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-7744
Fax: (617) 414-4676
rsaitz@bu.edu
Website

 

Investigators and Staff

michael holickMichael Holick, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
715 Albany Street, M-1013
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-4546
Fax: (617) 638-8882
mfholick@bu.edu
Co-Investigator

 

SONY DSCSeville Meli, MPH
Director of Research Operations
Boston University School of Public Health, Community Health Sciences Department
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6917
Fax: (617) 414-4676
seville@bu.edu

 

Samet_Jeffrey-2-5x3-5aJeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
Professor of Medicine and Public Heath,
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website
Co-Investigator

 

Margaret Sullivan, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
771 Albany St.
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3574
Meg.Sullivan@bmc.org
Co-Investigator

 

 

 

walley1Alexander Walley, MD, MSc
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6975
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Alexander.Walley@bmc.org
Website
Co-Investigator

 

 

Alicia Ventura, MPH
Project Manager
Boston University School of Public Health, Community Health Sciences Department
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6914
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Aventura@bu.edu

 

 

 

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Kendall Bryant, PhD
Director, HIV/AIDS Research, NIAAA
Scientific Collaborator, Consortiums for HIV/AIDS and Alcohol Research Translation (CHAART) National Institutes on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane
Bethesda MD 20892-7003
Phone: (301) 402-9389
Kbryant@mail.nih.gov

 

Fellows and Junior Investigators

lJulian Adong, MBChB
Medical Officer
MUST Grants Office
Mbarara University
P.O. Box 1410
Mbarara, Uganda
Phone: +256-71-261-4770
adongjulian@gmail.com

 

Stephen B. Asiimwe, MMed, MBChB
Fellow, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
University of California San Francisco
Mission Hall: Global Health and Clinical Sciences Bldg.
550 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94158
asiimwesteve@gmail.com

 

 

 

Angela Robertson Bazzi, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Department of Community Health Sciences
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Avenue
Crosstown Center, Rm 442E
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 414-1355
abazzi@bu.edu

 

 

 

Adam Carrico, PhD
Assistant Professor of Nursing
UCSF School of Nursing
2 Koret Way, Nursing
San Francisco CA 94143
Phone: (415) 502-0955
adam.carrico@ucsf.edu

 

 

Nadia Fairbairn, MD
Internal Medicine Resident
University of British Columbia, Department of Medicine
n.fairbairn@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

daniel fusterDaniel Fuster, MD, PhD
Attending Physician. Clinical Researcher. Clinical Assistant Professor.
Addiction Unit-Internal Medicine Service
Hospital Universitari Germans Trias i Pujol
Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
Ctra. Canyet s/n
Badalona (Barcelona) 08916
Spain
Daniel.Fuster@bmc.org

 

Bulat Idrisov, MD, MSc 
Fulbright Grantee
International Health Policy and Management
Heller School of Social Policy and Management
Brandeis University
Waltham, MA 02453
bidrisov@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

Karen Jacobson, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
850 Harrison Avenue
Dowling 3 North, 3112
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5213
Fax: (617) 638-8070
Karen.Jacobson@bmc.org

 

 

Theresa W. Kim, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6932
Theresa.Kim@bmc.org

 

 

Tetiana KiriazovaTetiana Kiriazova, PhD
Director
Ukrainian Institute on Public Health Policy.
4 Malopidvalna Str., Office 6
Kyiv 01001 Ukraine
Phone: +38 044 278 3132
t.kiryazova@gmail.com

 

 

 

Sara Lorkiewicz
Graduate Student
Master’s of Science in Medical Science
Boston University School of Medicine
Phone: (708) 989-8621
s.lorkiewicz1@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

karsten lunzeKarsten Lunze, DrPH, MD, MPH
Research Assistant Professor
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6933
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Karsten.Lunze@bmc.org

 

 

 

 

Jared Magnani, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
88 E. Newton Street, D-7, Division of Cardiology
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-8714
jared.magnani@bmc.org

 

 

Nicholas Mauricio
Medical Student
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
nmaur@bu.edu

 

 

Seonaid Nolan, MB BCh, FRCPC
Addiction Medicine Fellow
St. Paul’s Hospital
1081 Burrard St, 608
Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y6, Canada
Phone: (778) 387-7254
seonaidn@gmail.com

 

 

kaku so-armahKaku So-Armah, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston, MA 02118
kaku@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

Kinna Thakarar, DO, MPH
Fellow in Infectious Disease
Boston Medical Center
850 Harrison Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
Kinna.Thakarar@bmc.org

 

 

Judith Tsui, MD, MPH
Acting Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of Washington Department of Medicine
Harborview Medical Center
325 Ninth Ave
Campus Box 359780
Seattle WA, 98104
Tel: (415) 298-4528
Fax: (617) 414-4676
tsuij@u.washington.edu

 

 

Jennifer A. Wagman, PhD, MHS
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of California, San Diego
Division of Global Public Health, School of Medicine
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0507
La Jolla, CA 92093-0507
Tel: (858) 246-0066
Fax: (858) 534-7566
jwagman@ucsd.edu

 

 

 

Sarah Woolf-King, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar
UCSF School of Medicine
50 Beale Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone: (415) 597-9198
Fax: (415) 597-9213
sarah.woolf-king@ucsf.edu

 

 

Scientific Advisory Panel

freedbergKenneth Freedberg, MD, MSc
Professor, Harvard School of Public Health
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
50 Staniford St.
MGH, 9th Floor
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 724-3341

 

 

Victor Hesselbrock, PhD
Professor, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Univ. of Connecticut Health Center, MC1410
263 Farmington Avenue
Farmington, CT 06030
Phone: (860) 679-4282
hesselb@psychiatry.uchc.edu

 

 

 

Amy Justice, MD, MSc, PhD
Professor, Yale School of Medicine
Section Chief, West Haven VA Healthcare System
950 Campbell Avenue
West Haven, CT 06516
Phone: (203) 932-5711 x3541
amy.justice2@med.va.gov

 

 

 

Mimi Kim, ScD
Professor, Epidemiology and Population Health
Albert Einstein School of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Belfer Building, Room 1303B
Bronx, NY 10461
Phone: (718) 430-2017
mikim@aecom.yu.edu

 

 

Michael Stein, MD
Professor of Medicine
Brown University School of Medicine
345 Blackstone Boulevard
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: (401) 455-6646
michael_stein@brown.edu