Directory

Admin Core | BDM Core | Uganda Cohort | Russia Cohort | Boston Cohort | NIAAACollaborators and Junior Investigators | Advisory Panel

Contact Us

Administrative Coordinating Core

Samet_Jeffrey-2-5x3-5aPrincipal Investigator
Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
John Noble, M.D. Professor in General Internal Medicine and Professor of Community Health Science
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website

 

Investigators and Staff

Bridden_Carly-2-5x3-5Carly Bridden, MA, MPH
Administrative Director
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5768
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Carly.Bridden@bmc.org

 

 

 

Canfield_Julia-2-5x3-5Julia Canfield, MPH
Project Management Specialist
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6905
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Julia.Canfield@bmc.org

 

 

 

Biostatistics and Data Management Core

DebbiePrincipal Investigator
Debbie Cheng, ScD
Biostatistician for Uganda and Russia Cohorts
Professor of Biostatistics
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5989
dmcheng@bu.edu

 

Investigators and Staff

Tim HeerenTimothy Heeren, PhD
Professor of Biostatistics
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5177
tch@bu.edu
Biostatistician for Boston Cohort

 

 

Sara LodiSara Lodi, MSc, PhD
Assistant Professor
Boston University School of Public Health
Department of Biostatistics
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638 5115
slodi@bu.edu

 

 

Michael WinterMichael Winter, MPH
Associate Director of the BUSPH Data Coordinating Center
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5015
mwinter@bu.edu

 

 

Uganda Cohort

judyPrincipal Investigator
Judith Hahn, PhD, MA
Associate Professor in Residence
Univ. of California, San Francisco Mission Bay
550 16th St., 3rd floor
San Francisco, CA 94158-2549
Phone: (415) 576-5815
Judy.hahn@ucsf.edu
Website

 

 

Investigators and Staffi

Nneka Emenyonu, DrPH, MPH
Project Director, Infectious Diseases, San Francisco General Hospital
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-9346
Fax: (415) 597-9213
Nneka.Emenyonu@ucsf.edu

 

robin fatch Robin Fatch, MPH
Statistician/Data Manager, Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
Box 0886
San Francisco, CA 94143-0886
Phone: (415) 597-4976
Fax: (415) 597-9213
robin.fatch@ucsf.edu

 

Monica Gandhi MD, MPH PhotoHandler
Professor of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine
Associate Division Chief of the Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases, and Global Medicine
San Francisco General Hospital
1001 Potrero Ave
San Francisco CA 94110

Phone: (415) 476-4082
Monica.Gandhi@ucsf.edu
Co-Investigator

 

 

Karen Jacobson, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
850 Harrison Avenue
Dowling 3 North, 3112
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5213
Fax: (617) 638-8070
Karen.Jacobson@bmc.org
Co-Investigator

Benjamin P. Linas, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Boston University School of Medicine
Director, HIV Epidemiology and Outcomes Research Unit, Section of Infectious Diseases
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5238
Benjamin.Linas@bmc.org
Co-Investigator

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAWinnie Muyindike, MBChB, MMED
Director of Immune Suppression Syndrome Clinic
Mbarara University of Science and Technology
Department Of Internal Medicine
P.O Box 1410 Mbarara Uganda
Phone: 256 -772- 52-1619
wmuyindike@gmail.com
Co-Investigator

 

 

 

scan0002Christine Ngabirano BA(SS), MPH
Project Coordinator
Mbarara University of Science and Technology
Department Of Internal Medicine
P.O Box 1410 Mbarara Uganda
Phone: 256-776-418691
cngabirano@must.ac.ug

 

 

 

Russia Cohort

 
matt freibergPrincipal Investigators

Matthew Freiberg, MD, MSc
Director, Vanderbilt Center for Clinical Cardiovascular outcomes REsearch And Trials Evaluation (V-C3REATE)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Cardiovascular Medicine Division
2525 West End, Suite 300-A
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 875-9729
Fax: (615) 322-3837
matthew.s.freiberg@vanderbilt.edu

 

Samet_Jeffrey-2-5x3-5a

Jeffrey Samet, MD, MA, MPH
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine, Boston Medical Center
John Noble, M.D. Professor in General Internal Medicine and Professor of Community Health Science
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617)-414-7288
Fax: (617) 414-4676
jsamet@bu.edu
Website

 

 

HHilary Tindle, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine and the William Anderson Spickard, Jr., MD Chair in Medicine
Division of Internal Medicine & Public Health and Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center (VICC)
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 370
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 875-7810
Fax: (615) 322-3837
hilary.tindle@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Investigators and Staff

sally 1Sally Bendiks, MPH
Research Coordinator
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3802
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Sally.bendiks@bmc.org

 

 

 

Elena A. Blokhina, MD, PhD
Deputy Director, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
First St. Petersburg Pavlov State Medical University
197022 Lev Tolstoy St 6/8
St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: 011-8-901-373-5396
blokhinaelena@gmail.com
Co-Investigator

 

 

 

 

Gnatienko_Natalia-2-5x3-5 (2)Natalia Gnatienko, MPH
Lead Project Manager
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3843
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Natalia.Gnatienko@bmc.org

 


 

Evgeny Krupitsky(2)Evgeny Krupitsky, MD, PhD, DMSci
Chief, Lab of Clinical Pharmacology of Addictions, Pavlov State Medical University
Chief, Department of Addictions,
St. Petersburg Bekhterev Psychoneurological Research Institute
Bekhtereva St, 3,
St. Petersburg 192019 Russia
Phone: 011-7-901-300-5811
Fax: 011-7-812-365-2217
kruenator@gmail.com
PI for Russia Cohort Subcontract

 

Lioznov DDmitry Lioznov, MD, PhD
Vice-Rector for Nursing Education, Pavlov State Medical University
Head, Center for Preventive Medicine
Pavlov State Medical University
6/8 Lev Tolstoy St.
197089
St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: 011-7-(812) 499-7058
Fax: 011-7-(812) 499-7058
dlioznov@yandex.ru
Co-Investigator

 

Felter_SarahSarah Loch, MPH, CPH
Research Programs Manager
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
2525 W. End Ave. Ste. 300-A
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 875-9945
Fax: (615) 322-3837
Sarah.Felter@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Michael Stein, MD
Professor and Chair of Health Law, Policy & Management
Boston University School of Public Health
715 Albany Street
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-5042
mdstein@bu.edu
Co-Investigator

 

 

Tatiana Yaroslavtseva, MD
Scientific Secretary, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
197022 Lev Tolstoy street 6/8
St.Petersburg, Russia
Phone: +7(952)097-81-73
Fax: +7(812)338-60-51
tatianayaroslavtseva@gmail.com

 

 

 

SONY DSCEdwin Zvartau, MD, PhD, DMSci
Head, Department of Clinical Pharmacology & Evidence-Based Med
Research Director, Valdman Institute of Pharmacology
Pavlov State Medical University
6/8 Lev Tolstoy St.
St. Petersburg 197022 Russia
Phone: 011-7-812-499 7023
Fax: 011-7-812-346 3414
Zvartau@gmail.com
Project Director for Russia Cohort Subcontract

 

Boston Cohort

SONY DSCPrincipal Investigator
Richard Saitz, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Community Health Sciences; Professor of Community Health Sciences and Medicine
Boston University Schools of Public Health and Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-7744
Fax: (617) 414-4676
rsaitz@bu.edu
Website

 

Investigators and Staff

Green_Traci-2-5x3-5 (1)

Traci C. Green, PhD
Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine
Associate Director & Senior Scientist, Injury Prevention Research Center
Boston University School of Medicine
771 Albany Street, Dowling 1
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-5976
traci.c.green@gmail.com
Co-Investigator

 

 

 

michael holickMichael Holick, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
715 Albany Street, M-1013
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 638-4546
Fax: (617) 638-8882
mfholick@bu.edu
Co-Investigator

 

Alan M. Jette, PT, PhD
Director of Health & Disabilities Research Institute
Boston University School of Public Health
715 Albany St.
Boston, MA 02218
Phone: (617) 638-1985
Fax: (617) 638-1999
ajette@bu.edu
Co-Investigator

 

 

 

SONY DSCSeville Meli, MPH
Director of Research Operations
Boston University School of Public Health, Community Health Sciences Department
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6917
Fax: (617) 414-4676
seville@bu.edu

 

mariana

Mariana Krueger, MS
Research Project Manager
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 431
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-2039
mkrueger@bu.edu

 

 

Margaret Sullivan, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
771 Albany St.
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-3574
Meg.Sullivan@bmc.org
Co-Investigator

 

 


alex walleyAlexander Walley, MD, MSc
Associate Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6975
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Alexander.Walley@bmc.org
Website
Co-Investigator

 

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Kendall Bryant, PhD
Director, HIV/AIDS Research, NIAAA
Scientific Collaborator, Consortiums for HIV/AIDS and Alcohol Research Translation (CHAART) National Institutes on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane
Bethesda MD 20892-7003
Phone: (301) 402-9389
Kbryant@mail.nih.gov

Collaborators and Junior Investigators

Julian Adong, MBChB
Medical Officer
MUST Grants Office
Mbarara University
P.O. Box 1410
Mbarara, Uganda
Phone: +256-71-261-4770
adongjulian@gmail.com

 

Stephen B. Asiimwe, MMed, MBChB
Fellow, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
University of California San Francisco
Mission Hall: Global Health and Clinical Sciences Bldg.
550 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94158
asiimwesteve@gmail.com

 

 

 

Sabrina Assoumou, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine
850 Harrison Ave, Dowling 3N
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 414-2896
Sabrina.Assoumou@bmc.org

 

 

 

 

Barocas-PhotoJoshua Barocas, MD
Instructor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Assistant in Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital
55 Fruit st, GrJ-504
Boston, MA 02114
jbarocas@mgh.harvard.edu

 

 

 

 

Angela Robertson Bazzi, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Department of Community Health Sciences
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Avenue
Crosstown Center, Rm 442E
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 414-1355
abazzi@bu.edu

 

 

 

Nadia Fairbairn, MD
Internal Medicine Resident
University of British Columbia, Department of Medicine
n.fairbairn@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

daniel fusterDaniel Fuster, MD, PhD
Attending Physician, Clinical Researcher, Associate Professor of Medicine
Addiction Unit-Internal Medicine Service
Hospital Universitari Germans Trias i Pujol
Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
Ctra. Canyet s/n
Badalona (Barcelona) 08916
Spain
Daniel.Fuster@bmc.org

 

Bulat Idrisov, MD, MSc 
NIDA INVEST Fellow
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6614
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Bulat.Idrisov@bmc.org

 

 

 

Kim_Theresa_184x184 low resTheresa W. Kim, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6932
Theresa.Kim@bmc.org

 

 

Tetiana KiriazovaTetiana Kiriazova, PhD
Director
Ukrainian Institute on Public Health Policy.
4 Malopidvalna Str., Office 6
Kyiv 01001 Ukraine
Phone: +38 044 278 3132
t.kiryazova@gmail.com

 

 

 

Stephen KoStephen Ko, MD, MA, MPH, MDIV
Research Assistant Professor of Global Health
Center for Global Health and Development
Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Avenue, Crosstown Center, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-1446
scko@bu.edu

 

 

Karen Lasser, MD, MPH 
Associate Professor
Boston University School of Medicine and Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6688
Karen.Lasser@bmc.org

 

 

 

Gabriel Lerner, MS
Medical Student
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 875-3112
gblerner@bu.edu

 

 

 

Sara Lorkiewicz
Graduate Student
Master’s of Science in Medical Science
Boston University School of Medicine
Phone: (708) 989-8621
s.lorkiewicz1@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

karsten lunzeKarsten Lunze, DrPH, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Boston Medical Center
801 Massachusetts Ave
Crosstown, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-6933
Fax: (617) 414-4676
Karsten.Lunze@bmc.org

 

 

 

download

Tibor Palfai, PhD
Clinical Program Director (Director of Clinical Training) 
Boston University
648 Beacon st
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617) 353-9345
palfai@bu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Seonaid Nolan, MBBCh, FRCPC
Addiction Medicine Fellow
St. Paul’s Hospital
1081 Burrard St, 608
Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y6, Canada
Phone: (778) 387-7254
seonaidn@gmail.com

 

 

kaku-editedKaku So-Armah, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Boston University School of Medicine
801 Massachusetts Ave, 2nd Floor
Boston, MA 02118
kaku@bu.edu

 

 

Kinna Thakarar, DO, MPH 
Assistant Professor
Tufts University School of Medicine
Maine Medical Center
84 Marginal Way, Suite 800
Portland, ME 04101
kthakarar@intermed.com

 

 


Judith Tsui, MD, MPH 
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Washington Department of Medicine
Harborview Medical Center
325 Ninth Ave
Campus Box 359780
Seattle WA, 98104
Tel: (415) 298-4528
Fax: (617) 414-4676
tsuij@u.washington.edu

 

 

Portraits February 21, 2017 by Alex Matthews for UC San DiegoJennifer A. Wagman, PhD, MHS
Assistant Professor
University of California, San Diego
Division of Global Public Health, School of Medicine
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0507
La Jolla, CA 92093-0507
Tel: (858) 246-0066
Fax: (858) 534-7566
jwagman@ucsd.edu

 

 

 

Emily C. Williams, PhD, MPH
Core Investigator
Center of Innovation for Veteran Centered and Value-Driven Care
VA Puget Sound
Associate Professor and Associate Director of Doctoral Program
Department of Health Services
University of Washington
1660 S. Columbian Way (S-152)
Seattle, WA 98108
Phone: (206) 277-6133
Emily.williams3@va.gov

 

 

 

Sarah Woolf-King, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Syracuse University
510 Huntington Hall
Syracuse, NY 13244
Phone: (315) 443-9917
sewoolf@syr.edu

 

 

Scientific Advisory Panel

freedbergKenneth Freedberg, MD, MSc
Professor, Harvard School of Public Health
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
50 Staniford St.
MGH, 9th Floor
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 724-3341

 

 

Victor Hesselbrock, PhD
Professor, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Univ. of Connecticut Health Center, MC1410
263 Farmington Avenue
Farmington, CT 06030
Phone: (860) 679-4282
hesselb@psychiatry.uchc.edu

 

 

 

Amy Justice, MD, MSc, PhD
Professor, Yale School of Medicine
Section Chief, West Haven VA Healthcare System
950 Campbell Avenue
West Haven, CT 06516
Phone: (203) 932-5711 x3541
amy.justice2@med.va.gov

 

 

 

seth kalichmanSeth Kalichman, PhD
Professor of Psychology
University of Connecticut
406 Babbidge Road, Unit 1020
Storrs, CT 06269
Phone: (860) 486-4042
seth.k@uconn.edu

 

 

Mimi Kim, ScD
Professor, Epidemiology and Population Health
Albert Einstein School of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Belfer Building, Room 1303B
Bronx, NY 10461
Phone: (718) 430-2017
mikim@aecom.yu.edu