Softball: Roncin, Boaz, Waters take home postseason awards

Postseason award winners Kayla Roncin, Allison Boaz, and Ashley Waters. PHOTOS BY PATRICK DONNELLY/ WTBU SPORTS AND KYLE PRUDHOMME VIA BU ATHLETICS

By Hannah Yoshinaga 

The Patriot League announced its softball postseason awards on Tuesday, with three Boston University team members taking home major awards.

Sophomore shortstop Kayla Roncin was named Player of the Year after putting up a career-best offensive performance. Roncin hit .443 for the season, ninth-best in NCAA, and .492 against conference opponents. Her 78 hits during the regular season rank second in the nation.

Junior pitcher Allison Boaz won Pitcher of the Year after having a breakout year in 2022. Boaz finished with a conference-best 1.40 ERA, and opposing batters hit only .255 against her in 164.2 regular-season innings. That number dropped against Patriot League opponents, who managed only a .161 average against the San Diego native. Boaz also threw seven shutouts, contributing to her league-leading 20 wins.

The honors were the first postseason awards for both Roncin and Boaz.

Head coach Ashley Waters took home Coach of the Year after leading BU to a 38-15 record, which included a 27-game win streak. Under Waters’ guidance, the Terriers also recorded wins against NCAA powerhouses such as Georgia, SDSU and Clemson. Waters has now won the award three times to go along with four conference titles in seven seasons at the helm.

Roncin and Boaz were both named to the All-Patriot League first team, along with senior first baseman Nicole Amodio, junior third baseman Caitlin Coker, and senior outfielder Emily Gant.

Appearing on the second team were junior catcher Audrey Sellers, sophomore outfielder Lauren Keleher, and junior pitcher Lizzy Avery.

BU’s nine selections lead all seven teams in the Patriot League, followed by Lehigh with five and Army with four.

The Terriers also led in major award selections last season, when BU took home Player of the Year (Caitlin Coker), Pitcher of the Year (Ali DuBois), Rookie of the Year (Lauren Keleher), and Coach of the Year (Ashley Waters).