Patriot League Announces 2021 Basketball Schedules

By: Ethan Fuller

In a Monday morning press release, the Patriot League laid out a comprehensive plan for its 2021 men’s and women’s basketball season.

The Patriot League will play a modified slate of 16 conference basketball games beginning on January 2. Teams will be grouped into three regional “mini-conferences” according to the statement, and will play four games against each opponent in the group. Additionally, teams will face off in a small number of games between conference opponents outside of the regional pods. Except for Army and Navy, no schools will be allowed to schedule nonconference games.

For Boston University, its regional pod appears to include Holy Cross, Army and defending title foe Colgate.

“We have accomplished the first step in the planning process for the 2021 Patriot League men’s and women’s basketball season,” said Lafayette College President Alison Byerly, Chair of the Council of Presidents in the statement. “The Council of Presidents places the highest value and priority on League competition and we believe this model offers the best opportunities for us to conduct a safe and successful League season.”

The league’s postseason will also have a slightly different look. Instead of letting every team into the playoffs, with a first round play-in game for seeds no. 7-10, the Patriot League will field a more traditional eight-team postseason.

The full statement can be found here. WTBU will be updating this story with more information as it comes.