Ph.D. Students

london_bard1

Current PhD students are listed below. Click on a name to view a full profile.

A B C D EG H I J KM N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

HeatherBarrett

Heather Barrett
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century American fiction, the Gothic, gender and sexuality studies, transatlanticism
heathbar@bu.edu



juliamixbarringtonJulia Mix Barrington
Primary fields:
early modern drama, early modern poetry, early modern travel narratives, gender and sexuality studies
jpmb@bu.edu

albz

Amy Bennett-Zendzian
Primary fields: children’s literature, nineteenth-century American literature, the child in fiction, discipline and education, transatlanticism, gift theory
albz@bu.edu

bernhoftIain Bernhoft
Primary fields:
contemporary fiction, American literature, history of popular entertainment, genre studies, literature and technology
hoft@bu.edu

DevinBykerDevin Byker
Primary fields:
early modern drama, medieval drama, ordinary language philosophy, death culture
dlbyker@bu.edu


liacalhounLia Sloth Calhoun
Primary fields:
 twentieth- and twenty-first-century American literature, spatial justice, spatial theory, human rights discourse, Native American literature, Ethnic-American literature 
sloth@bu.edu

gregchaseGreg Chase
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American fiction; modernism; transatlanticism; ordinary language philosophy
gregchs@bu.edu

stock

Andrew Christensen
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century British literature, science and literature, literature and visual arts, history of science, Czech literature
agc [at] bu.edu

Croan_GradProfilePicTalia Vestri Croan
Primary fields:
British Romanticism, poetry, nineteenth-century novel, gender and sexuality studies, queer theory, history of the family
tmvcroan@bu.edu


pardis
Pardis Dabashi
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American and French literature, post-colonial and race theory
pdabashi@bu.edu


stockJordan Eisenback
eisenba@bu.edu

christianR. Christian Engley
Primary fields:
British and Irish modernism, film and film theory, lyric poetry, Marxism, psychoanalysis, gender and sexuality studies
rcengley@bu.edu



NausheenNausheen Eusuf
Primary fields: 
poetry & poetics, aesthetics, language & subjectivity
neusuf@bu.edu


FG3

Florian Gargaillo
Primary fields:
poetry, twentieth-century literature, literary letters
fgargail@bu.edu


Reed6Reed Gochberg
Primary fields: nineteenth-century American literature, the novel, intellectual history, transatlanticism, literature and visual art, literature and music
gochberg@bu.edu


square goldAlexandra Gold
Primary fields: 
Poetry and poetics, modern and postmodern poetry, literature and the visual arts, women’s, gender, and sexuality studies
agold25@bu.edu

 

emilygruberEmily Gruber
Primary fields:
early modern drama and performance, foodways and hunger, Shakespearean film and appropriation
egruber@bu.edu

 

Karen GuendelKaren Guendel
Primary fields:
modernist and Romantic poetry, the body, organicism, metaphor, subjectivity
kareng@bu.edu

 

heatherholcombeHeather E. Holcombe
Primary fields:
American literature, the contemporary historical novel, gender and sexuality, genetics and literature, disability studies
holcombe@bu.edu

 

christopherhottelChristopher Hottel
Primary fields:
Romantic poetry, the Sublime, German Philosophy, particularly Hegel, Slavoj Zizek
chottel@metrocast.net

annaelAnnael Jonas-Paneth
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century British literature, the novel, Romanticism, literature and the visual arts, intellectual history, narratology.
annaeljp@bu.edu

Jessica Kent

Jessica Kent
Primary fields:
American literature, contemporary fiction, queer theory, biography, world literature, and film
jessicak@bu.edu

 

kervin

Claire Kervin
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American literature, the contemporary novel, environmental writing, ecocriticism, ethics
cekervin@bu.edu

 

joyceJoyce Kim
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century American literature, twentieth-century American literature, African-American literature, Southern studies, trauma studies, intellectual and cultural history
joycekim@bu.edu

 

alexmAlex Macconochie
Primary fields:
medieval and early modern drama, history, law, Bakhtin, performance theory
aamaccon@bu.edu

 


jonnajarian
Jon Najarian
Primary fields: twentieth-century fiction, modernism, philosophy of language, the body, systems, paranoia
joncn@bu.edu

 

NeilsenKate Neilsen
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century British fiction, ecocriticism and environmental literature, the Gothic, queer ecology
neilsenk@bu.edu

 

catherinenordstrom

Catherine Nordstrom
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century British literature, literature and science, the novel, time
cnords@bu.edu


nadia
Nadia Padilla
Primary fields:
early modern literature, drama, performance studies, gender and sexuality studies, and lyric poetry.
npadilla@bu.edu

dansalernoDan Salerno
Primary fields:
Shakespeare, religion, early modern, Renaissance, composition
spqr@bu.edu

 

 

Erin SaliusErin Salius
Primary fields: nineteenth-century American fiction,  twentieth-century American fiction; religion and literature; African American literature; slave narratives
esalius@bu.edu

 

Schoenberger

Melissa Schoenberger
Primary fields: Restoration and eighteenth-century literature, poetry, translation, georgic, epic, eighteenth-century quixotes
melsch@bu.edu

 

stockMatthew Stokes
mmstokes@bu.edu



lauratallon

Laura Tallon
Primary fields:
British Romanticism, long eighteenth-century poetry, gender and sexuality studies, literature and the visual arts.
ltallon@bu.edu



stockRyan Weberling
Primary fields: 
transatlantic modernism; history of fiction and empire; forms of life narrative; gender, sexuality, and critical race studies; digital humanities.
ryanweb@bu.edu

 

stock

Carl Weitkamp
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American literature, contemporary fiction, philosophy of language, speech act theory, digital humanities
weitkamp@bu.edu

 

patrickwhitmarshPatrick Whitmarsh
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American fiction, science fiction, philosophy of history, philosophy of mind, the posthuman
pwhitmar@bu.edu