Ph.D. Students

london_bard1

Current PhD students are listed below. Click on a name to view a full profile.

A B C D EG H I J KM N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Alba_PhotoKen Alba
Primary fields: novel, philosophy, media studies, digital humanities, film, gender
kenalba@bu.edu

 

HeatherBarrett

Heather Barrett
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century American fiction, the Gothic, gender and sexuality studies, transatlanticism
heathbar@bu.edu

juliamixbarrington

Julia Mix Barrington
Primary fields:
early modern drama, early modern poetry, early modern travel narratives, gender and sexuality studies
jpmb@bu.edu

 

DevinBykerDevin Byker
Primary fields:
early modern drama, medieval drama, ordinary language philosophy, death culture
dlbyker@bu.edu

 

liacalhounLia Sloth Calhoun
Primary fields: twentieth- and twenty-first-century American literature, spatial justice, spatial theory, human rights discourse, Native American literature, Ethnic-American literature 
sloth@bu.edu

Greg Chase
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American fiction; modernism; transatlanticism; ordinary language philosophy
gregchs@bu.edu

stock

Andrew Christensen
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century British literature, science and literature, literature and visual arts, history of science, Czech literature
agc@bu.edu

Croan_GradProfilePicTalia Vestri Croan
Primary fields:
British Romanticism; Victorian literature; lyric poetry; marriage plot novels; women’s, gender, and sexuality studies; family and kinship studies; queer theory; film and visual arts
tmvcroan@bu.edu


pardis
Pardis Dabashi
Primary fields:
French and Anglo-American modernism, film, narratology
pdabashi@bu.edu

 

 

drauckersquareShannon Draucker
Primary fields: 
nineteenth-century British literature; fin de siècle literature; aestheticism; music-literature studies; women’s, gender, and sexuality studies
sdraucke@bu.edu

 


stockJordan Eisenback
eisenba@bu.edu

christianR. Christian Engley
Primary fields:
British and Irish modernism, film and film theory, lyric poetry, Marxism, psychoanalysis, gender and sexuality studies
rcengley@bu.edu



NausheenNausheen Eusuf
Primary fields: 
poetry & poetics, aesthetics, language & subjectivity
neusuf@bu.edu


Florian Gargaillo Profile PicFlorian Gargaillo
Primary fields:
modern and contemporary poetry; twentieth-century literature; poetry and rhetoric; translation
fgargail@bu.edu

 

Reed6Reed Gochberg
Primary fields: nineteenth-century American literature, intellectual history, history of science
gochberg@bu.edu

 

square goldAlexandra Gold
Primary fields: 
Poetry and poetics, modern and postmodern poetry, literature and the visual arts, women’s, gender, and sexuality studies
agold25@bu.edu

 

Gowan_picEmily Gowan
Primary fields: Modernism, 19th Century Fiction, The Novel
egowen@bu.edu

 

emilygruberEmily Gruber
Primary fields:
early modern drama and performance, foodways and hunger, Shakespearean film and appropriation
egruber@bu.edu

 

christopherhottelChristopher Hottel
Primary fields:
Romantic poetry, the Sublime, German Philosophy, particularly Hegel, Slavoj Zizek
chottel@metrocast.net

 

Ethan_KingEthan King
Primary Fields: global modernism, global contemporary, spatial studies, urban political ecology, anthropocene, the body, phenomenology, ethics, precarity
eeking@bu.edu

 

annaelAnnael Jonas-Paneth
Primary fields: 
nineteenth-century British literature, the novel, literature and the visual arts, the Bildungsroman, Victorian poetry, Romantic influence
annaeljp@bu.edu

kervin

Claire Kervin
Primary fields:
twentieth-century American literature, the contemporary novel, environmental writing, ecocriticism, ethics
cekervin@bu.edu

 

Joyce Kim
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century American literature, twentieth-century American literature, African-American literature, Southern studies, trauma studies, intellectual and cultural history
joycekim@bu.edu

 

Lacey_photoKristin Lacey
Primary fields: 
nineteenth- and twentieth-century American fiction, satire, gender and sexuality studies
klacey@bu.edu

 

alexmAlex Macconochie
Primary fields:
medieval and early modern drama, history, law, Bakhtin, performance theory
aamaccon@bu.edu

 


jonnajarian
Jon Najarian
Primary fields: modernism, philosophy, narrative
joncn@bu.edu

 

 

NeilsenKate Neilsen
Primary fields:
nineteenth-century British fiction, ecocriticism and environmental literature, the Gothic, queer ecology
neilsenk@bu.edu

 


nadia
Nadia Padilla
Primary fields:
Restoration & eighteenth-century literature, pastoral literature, gender and sexuality studies, verse dialogues, poetry, genre studies.
npadilla@bu.edu

 

Hannah Simpson
Primary fields: modernism, postmodernism, Beckett, drama and performance, agency, spectacle
simpsonh@bu.edu

 

lauratallon

Laura Tallon
Primary fields:
Eighteenth-century literature, British Romanticism, poetry, gender and sexuality studies, literature and the visual arts.
ltallon@bu.edu



stockRyan Weberling
Primary fields: 
transatlantic modernism; history of fiction and empire; forms of life narrative; gender, sexuality, and critical race studies; digital humanities.
ryanweb@bu.edu

 

patrickwhitmarshPatrick Whitmarsh
Primary fields:
science fiction, Anglo-American modernism, postmodernism, posthumanism, systems theory, communications theory
whitmar@bu.edu