Congresspersons Support PHTC’s

There was a total of 66 signatories around the country, 11 of them from New England! Among them, from the top left moving right are Chellie Pingree, of ME’s 1st congressional district, Jim Langevin, of RI’s 2nd congressional district, Peter Welch, of Vermont’s at large congressional district, Ann Kuster, of NH’s 2nd congressional district, Chris Pappas, of NH’s 1st congressional district, Stephen Lynch, of MA’s 8th congressional district, (bottom left moving right) Richard Neal, of MA’s 1st congressional district, Jim McGovern of MA’s 2nd congressional district, Seth Moulton, of MA’s 6th congressional district, Joe Courtney, of CT’s 2nd congressional district, and Jahana Hayes, of CT’s 5th congressional district.

Like the New England Public Health Training Center, many other PHTC’s around the country are a partnership among schools and programs of public health, related academic institutions, and public health agencies and organizations.  It works to strengthen the technical, scientific, managerial, and leadership competencies of the current and future public health workforce to ensure that the region has the capacity to deliver high quality essential public health services over the long term.

Creating more support and advocacy around the benefits of training centers and their mission to provide the public with equipped public health professionals to support communities at the local and state level is crucial. The dedication of congresspersons like these are important for continuing our mission.

Other congresspersons from other states around the country who have signed on are:

Debbie Dingell
Don Young
Susan Davis
Raúl M. Grijalva
Filemon Vela
Jamie Raskin
Anthony Brown
Tony Cárdenas
Ben McAdams
Dave Loebsack
Danny K. Davis
Harley Rouda
Darren Soto
Eddie Bernice Johnson
Eleanor Holmes Norton
Sean Patrick Maloney
Jackie Speier
Ben Ray Luján
Yvette D. Clarke
Debbie Wasserman Schultz
Mark DeSaulnier
Vicente Gonzalez
Mark Takano
Tulsi Gabbard
John Lewis
Al Green
Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.
Zoe Lofgren
Deb Haaland
Earl Blumenauer
Jennifer Wexton
Scott Peters
Jahana Hayes
Conor Lamb
Robert C. “Bobby” Scott
Peter A. DeFazio
Steve Cohen
Kim Schrier, M.D.
Diana DeGette
Lucy McBath
Adriano Espaillat
John P. Sarbanes
G. K. Butterfield
David Trone
Adam Smith
Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr.
Ted W. Lieu
Abby Finkenauer
Jason Crow
David Scott
Terri A. Sewell
J. Luis Correa
Doris Matsui
Eliot Engel
John Garamendi
A. Donald McEachin
Cedric L. Richmond
John Larson