Fellows Program

In 2012, LPHI created the Fellows program to recognize the immense commitment and dedication of members of the public health workforce in Massachusetts to their personal professional development, and to the public health of the Commonwealth. The Fellows Program was retired in 2018.

Fellows were selected for their demonstrated mastery of public health practice concepts, commitment to professional development, and willingness to act as stewards for public health practice in MA.

Successful applicants for the program were required to have worked for at least five years for a state or local public health agency in MA as staff or governing body member, and also demonstrate work in areas of foundational knowledge, advanced knowledge, and stewardship.

Fellows of 2018

  • Ruth L. Clay, MS, MPH
    Health Director
    City of Melrose and Town of Wakefield
  • Gail F. Johnson, B.S.N., RN
    Public Health Nurse
    Westford Health Department
  • Dr. Alfred DeMaria, Jr., M.D.
    Honorary Fellow
    Medical Director, State Epidemiologist
    Bureau of Infectious Disease and Laboratory Sciences
    Massachusetts Department of Public Health

Fellows of 2017

  • Rae Dick, BS
    Health Agent
    Westford Health Department
  • Sue Rosa, RN, BSN
    Deputy Director/Manager of Healthcare Services
    Chelmsford Board of Health
  • Sam Wong, PhD, REHS/RS
    Director of Public and Community Health Services
    Hudson Health Department

Fellows of 2016

  • Ruth Mori RN, BSN
    Public Health Nurse/School Nurse Leader
    Wayland Health Department

Fellows of 2015

  • Sharon Cameron, MPA, RS
    Director of Health and Human Services
    City of Peabody
  • Bettye Anderson Frederic, MSN, RN, CHO, CSN
    Deputy Commissioner
    Springfield Department of Public Health
  • Derek Fullerton, RS/REHS, CHO, CEHT
    Director of Public Health
    Town of Middleton
  • Sheryl Knutsen, MSN, RN, PHCNS-BC
    Emergency Preparedness Planner, Region 3A-Northeast Public Health Coalition
  • Leila Mercer, MSN, RN
    Public Health Nurse
    Natick Board of Health

Fellows of 2014

  • Heather Gallant, MPH, RS, CHO
    Executive Director
    Taunton Board of Health
  • Larry A. Ramdin, REHS, CHO, CP-FS
    Health Agent
    Salem Board of Health
  • Paul Halfmann, MPH
    Assistant Director
    Community Sanitation Program,
    Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • Sigalle Reiss, MPH, RS/REHS
    Norwood Health Department
  • Mary McKenzie, EdM, MS, RN
    Public Health Nurse
    City of Chelsea Health Department
  • Dawn Sibor, MEd
    Emergency Preparedness Coordinator
    Brookline Department of Public Health

Fellows of 2013

  • Michael Blanchard, MS, REHS/RS
    Health Director
    Milton Board of Health
  • Cathleen Liberty, BS
    Health Agent
    Town of Webster
  • John Coulon, RS
    Health Agent
    Nahant and Topsfield Boards of Health
  • Charlotte Stepanian, BS, MSN, RN-BC
    Public Health Nurse
    Town of Merrimac
  • Kevin Duquette, RS, CP-FS
    Environmental Compliance Officer/Sanitarian,
    Taunton Board of Health
  • James White, RS/REHS
    Director of Public Health
    Natick Board of Health
  • Charles J. Kaniecki
    District Health Officer
    Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • Felix Zemel, MCP, MPH, REHS/RS
    Health Administrator/Inspector
    Cohasset Board of Health

Fellows of 2012

  • Philip Leger, RS
    Health Director
    Town of Templeton
  • Sandra Martin, MPH
    Health Agent
    Town of Egremont
  • Kitty Mahoney, RN, BSN, MS
    Chief Public Health Nurse,
    Town of Framingham
  • J. David Naparstek, Sc.M.
    Public Health Consultant
    City of Newton
  • Patrick Maloney, MPAH, RS, CHO
    Assistant Director of Public Health
    Chief of Environmental Health
    Town of Brookline
  • Kevin Sweet, MS, RS, CHO
    Town Administrator
    Town of Maynard